Messi, Ronaldo nominated for 18-19 UCL award

Cristiano Ronaldo, Leagues, Lionel Messi, Story, UEFA Champions League
Lionel Messi ensures Barcelona fans the club will fight for every trophy in 2019-20 after only winning La Liga and the Spanish Super Cup in 2018-19.
Stewart Robson cites Barcelona’s defeats against Liverpool and Roma in response to Cristiano Ronaldo’s comments that money cannot buy a UCL title.
Ross Dyer and Shaka Hislop go through the nominees for FIFA’s The Best men’s player award, including Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Virgil van Dijk.

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi and Juventus ace Cristiano Ronaldo have been nominated for the UEFA Champions League Forward of the Season award.

UEFA also announced their list of nominees for the best goalkeeper, defender and midfielder from last season’s tournament.

Messi scored 12 goals in the tournament as Barcelona reached the semifinals before suffering a comeback defeat to eventual winners Liverpool. Meanwhile, Ronaldo scored six goals — including a hat-trick against Atletico Madrid — as Juventus made the quarterfinals, where they lost to Ajax. 

When is the Champions League group-stage draw?
Premier League fixtures 2019-20 in full
ESPN fantasy: Sign up now!
When does the transfer window close?

The two players are joined by Sadio Mane in the Forward of the Season category, while the Senegal international’s captain at Liverpool, Jordan Henderson, is up for the Midfielder of the Season award, alongside Tottenham’s Christian Eriksen and Frenkie de Jong, who joined Barcelona from Ajax this summer.

De Jong’s former Ajax teammate Matthijs de Ligt has been nominated for the Defender of the Season award, but faces competition from two more Liverpool players: Virgil van Dijk and Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Liverpool, who defeated Tottenham in last season’s final, have one more player up for nomination in Alisson, who features in the Goalkeeper of the Season category, with Tottenham’s Hugo Lloris and Marc-Andre ter Stegen of Barcelona also nominated.

The jury for the awards was made up of the coaches of the 32 clubs that competed in the group stage of last season’s tournament, together with 55 journalists from each of UEFA’s 55 member associations.

Both coaches and journalists selected a shortlist of three players in each category, but coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own teams.

The awards will be presented in Monaco on Aug. 29 during the draw for the coming season’s Champions League group stage.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Live UCL updates, analysis: Madrid hit back vs. Man City; Arsenal, Bayern level
PSG vs. Barça: Can Mbappé decide epic Champions League rivalry one last time?
Jesus warns Bayern: Arsenal ‘not kids anymore’
USMNT’s Adams sits out Bournemouth defeat
Arsenal denied late pen in home draw with Bayern

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *